Chapter 4 part 8

Chapter 4 part 8

Translator: iveyra | Editor: Ms. Sheep

“Can Sir Roel pull that off well?”

“Uhm… should I even sprinkle some pepper in my eyes?”

Skipping meals isn’t difficult, but crying is the problem. But it’s not that I can’t cry. I just can’t squeeze out tears by force.

“Is your acting good enough to convince the Prime Minister that you’re crying out of sadness?”

“Th, that’s…..”

I’m not confident. Sieg, you son of a bitch, you made it sound like it would be an easy task, but it’s actually difficult! Was I fooled again?!

“And Lord Siegfred won’t let you have an early wedding either.”

“I don’t think he’s really against it though… On the surface, I mean.”

“Because you two are getting along well now. But he must be wanting you to proceed as slowly as possible. Sir Roel has only just had her début as a lady, so he wants you to experience everything a bit more, before you make a decision.”

“I think I can tell without having to personally experience it.”

Even more so if it’s an experience with men. No matter what kind of men he brings, my old self is far superior.

“Anyway, just what can we do about our marriage?”

Should I pester the High Priest? But I think he’ll support Sieg, rather than oppose him.

“Please persuade Prime Minister Mord or Lord Siegfred. Then, the one who is persuaded will take care of the other one.”

“… I think I had better persuade Sieg.”

He’s much easier to deal with than the Prime Minister. I got up and kissed Captain Jullius on the cheek.

“I’ll get permission to marry you, so please just wait a little bit.”

If it doesn’t work, well, I’ll have to pretend to cry.



When I came back home, I didn’t see Sieg anywhere. Instead, I saw Sofia waiting in my bedroom. I felt somewhat awkward as I saw her getting up from the sofa. She must have come to a decision about what she’s going to do in the future, that’s why she came looking for me like this. I took a good look at her, trying to figure out what was on her mind, as I approached her slowly, then she opened her mouth.

“Miss Roel.”

Hmm, unlike before, she also said my name.

(T/N: Idk if anyone noticed this, but Sofia usually only called her by ‘Miss’ without saying Silla’s name. In Korean, the first name is followed by the honorific, so this would be translated literally as “my name was said first” but we’ve adjusted it to accommodate the English.)

“Yes, Sofia.”

“I’m– wait, what is that?!”

“… Huh?”

What? What’s wrong? With a calm expression that made it hard to guess what she was thinking, she raised her eyes in shock. What is it? Did I do anything wrong? Sofia pointed her finger on my neck and shouted.

“I’m talking about the mark on Miss’s neck! The mark!”

“Oh, huh?”

I reflexively wrapped my hands on my neck. A mark? Ah! Did it leave a mark even though he didn’t bite me that hard?

“Captain Jullius asked–“

“Miss!!”

Gosh! She startled me. Sofia walked angrily in heavy steps as she came up to me.

“It’s a bite mark! Don’t tell me he used his mouth?!”

“Uh… he bit me, so naturally he used……”

If he wasn’t using his mouth, then how could he bite me? At my words, Sofia’s face looked like she might die from frustation, though it wasn’t to the point that she couldn’t say anything.

“You aren’t married yet! Yet, he put his mouth on the body of an innocent noble lady?! How could he do that!”

“But it’s just an expression of affection…..”

“It’s not though?! It’s indeed an expression of affection, but this is just not right! Something like that can be done only after you’re married! Until then, his mouth should only be touching your face and hands.”

I, is that so?

“… I didn’t know.”

“You didn’t lose your memory, so why don’t you know?”

“I, I was a cleric, you know!”

As a cleric who can’t get married, it’s only natural that I don’t really know much about the relationships between men and women! What was worse, I was an orphan, so I had even less opportunity to learn about such things! I was only fooling around a bit with those elder sisters, no, I mean those older sisters in high society, though they were usually at least pretending to be ladylike in front of me. At my cry that was full of grievance, Sofia flinched and lost her momentum.

(T/N: at first, mc addressed those older sisters as 누님 (this is how guys call their older sisters/female friends who are older, but this is very formal.) Then she corrected herself by calling them 언니(this is how girls call their older sisters/female friends who are older, but this is informal) that’s why I translated it as elder at first to differentiate.)

“That’s… right, you were.”

“Yes, I really didn’t know.”

“Then, what about Sir Rizar?”

“The Captain knows less than I do.”

His first kiss was even shared with me. Actually, for both the kissing and the bite on the nape, I was the one who attacked him first. Captain Jullius has done nothing wrong. He is just a victim. However, Sofia didn’t easily agree.

“But he’s still a man! Men and women are different! No matter what his origin is, he’s still a knight anyway, so how could he do such a shameless thing?!”

Looking at it, it seems like I’m about three times more shameless.

“I did it first! The Captain didn’t do anything wrong.”

“Miss!”

Sofia yelled again then sighed deeply.

“You don’t know whether this engagement will fall through someday. That’s why, you must be careful of your behavior until you get married at all costs! Women are different from men! Something that isn’t considered as a flaw for a man, could be a big flaw for a woman. But with your neck like this… you rode a carriage when you returned, right? No one noticed it, right?”

“Uh, yeah.”

“What a relief!”

Sofia grumblingly went into the dressing room and took out a choker that could be used to cover up the bite mark on the neck. The strap itself was thin, but it had a ribbon with a flower ornament on it, which seemed wide enough to cover the bite mark.

“You must cover the mark until it’s completely gone.”

“… Okay.”

“Of course I’ll cover it with makeup too, but please be careful. Don’t ever do this again in the future! You mustn’t leave any marks like this behind. Not until you get married!”

… I have to get married quickly. After wrapping my neck with the accessory, Sofia sighed once again.

“Seriously, if you’re like this, I can’t just leave and pretend that I don’t know anything.”

“Were you going to leave?”

“… I was still thinking. Miss Roel’s appearance is that of Miss Silla, so I can’t help but feel uneasy.”

It was indeed so. Since this body was the dead Silla Epheria’s, she would be much more inclined to leave than to accept a completely new host of the body. Every time she looks at my face, she’ll think of her dead mistress, so she’s going to have a hard time. That’s why, even if she left, I could fully understand her.

“But I’m in debt to you for saving Miss Silla, and even now, I’ve been hesitating… As expected, I can’t. What the butler said was right.”

“What did Sieg say?”

“He said Miss needs me.”

Naturally, it’s more comfortable to have Sofia here than to get another new maid.

“There’s no need to worry about what Sieg said. I’m not a child. I’m fine, so you don’t have to stay and suppress your feelings if you feel ill at ease.”

“You’re not a child.”

Sofia repeated the same words with emphasis as she stared at my nape with bleary eyes.

“You’re not a child.”

“I’m not that good at things like this, but…”

“Don’t worry. If I think that I really can’t stand it anymore, I’ll leave. I said so to Butler Sieg too.”

“Hmm.”

I looked at her as she adjusted the choker that wrapped my neck.

“Thanks.”

At my words, Sofia embarrassingly shook her hands.

“There’s nothing to be thankful for. Actually, for a mere servant’s position, the terms here are really good. So, considering that I’ll get a new job after leaving the Count’s household, I’m the one who should be grateful instead. Really.”

“Still–“

“Oh! How could I have forgotten that. Since you have gone outside, you have to bathe and change your clothes. I will prepare it right away.”

Walking with hurried steps, Sofia passed by me and went into the bathroom. I was worried, but it’s a relief that she looks fine. By the way, where the hell did Sieg go? If I don’t get married quickly, it looks like I won’t be able to do anything other than kissing.

17 thoughts on “Chapter 4 part 8

  1. Thanks for the translation.
    Just two things I want to point out, it’s Siegfried (so either the author messe up or you’ve missed something there( and Julius would be the correct spelling, but as that doesn’t affect the name too much I guess it’s fine.
    On a sidenote, Mord is actually the German term for homicide/manslaughter and is legally used for cases where special worsening circumstances are precedent (i.E. to cover up prior crimes, or esspecially cruel ways to kill, you can look it up here: § 211 StGB

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tbh I was having quite a hard time to decide their name since they’re written in Korean spelling (like, is this name should use double ‘S’ or not? It’s a V or B or P?). For Sieg name… now that you point it out, I think I’ve made a mistake and it should be Siegfried. I’ve never googled their names cuz I felt that the author might have come up with a name that have never been used before and I just use the name based on how I intepret it from Korean hangul. For ex Jullius name, if I put the romanization for his name, then his name should be ‘Yusis’ not Jullius… but in the end I use Jullius because the translator team for the manhwa use that name and everyone here is already familiar with this name.

      Dang… I didn’t know Mord means that in Germany. Thanks for the info 🤓
      In his case, I was debating whether I should add an E in the end (Morde), but idk… not sure which one the author is referring to.

      Anyway, thank you so much for your comment! ^^
      I like it when readers pay attention to minor details like this. I learn something new again from your comment 😀😀

      Like

  2. I kinda worry about captain wellbeing. The “everything” Roel wanna do after marriage seems had more bad than good things.

    Somehow i can relate to Sofia, i had take care someone who always said “I’m not a child” while act like one, all the time. Lol. You just can’t leave them alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah… that ‘everything’ is very suspicious 😅
      Sofia becomes another one who will constantly nag Roel. This might be the reason Sieg kinda wants her to stay by playing the pity card (telling her that Roel needs her lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am very concerned about the captain and that Roel has the painting book in his hands …. captain be careful with the active beast called roel

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tenho certeza que este tudo na cabeça de Roel é ser carregada, dar mordida no pescoço, dormir junto, no literal de pegar no sono kķkkk acho que a mente dela não alcança os atos mais aprofundados do casamento kkkk ela até conhece a palavra sexo, mas duvido que tenha idéia do ato em si… afinal ficou assustada quando o Capitão a beijou profundamente de língua kkkk

    Like

  5. “If I don’t get married quickly, it looks like I won’t be able to do anything other than kissing.”
    Roal, you horny fiend.

    Like

Leave a comment