Chapter 5 part 1: Inertia’s Confession

Chapter 5 part 1: Inertia’s Confession

Translator: iveyra | Editor: Ms. Sheep

We were set to leave in two days, as the preparations were already almost complete. I was accompanied by Saintess Iner and Tess from the Church’s side; Captain Jullius, Ortzen, and Clauen from the Special Task Squad; and lastly, there was Cain, who didn’t belong to either side. Based on numbers, seven of us didn’t seem like enough people to capture the Demon King, but based on our abilities, it wasn’t the case. Captain Jullius and the Saintess alone can easily catch one or two Demon Kings. What’s more, the Demon King we’re going to capture is in a state where he can’t use his mana properly.

“Adjutant Ortzen will go out for the first time in a long time.”

“It’s been about 6 years.”

Captain Jullius said as he was walking next to me. Ortzen was arrested way before that, so the 6 years was probably only counting from when he had been placed in the Special Task Squad. He had received permission from His Majesty the Emperor to go out, but the fact that he would go outside was kept secret. Not only Ortzen, the same goes for all of us as well.

“Vice Captain Testa said he took care of the permission by saying he’s taking a vacation before being inaugurated as the Captain of Holy Knight Squad.”

Naturally, it has been decided that he would become the Captain of the Holy Knight Squad in the end. Orginally, Vatein was supposed to join us too, but he decided to stay because it would be better to have at least one person who knew about this matter within the Church. The High Priest also knew, but the main reason was because the High Priest didn’t have anyone left at his beck and call.

When I arrived at Ortzen’s office and opened the door, the person, who was sitting on the sofa, sprang to their feet. It was none other than Cain Silac, whose face looked like he was perplexed and anxious. It’s been a while since I saw him.

“Welcome.”

Ortzen greeted us with a smile.

“The departure is tomorrow, around noon, when the rush hour is at its peak. If we use the Church’s carriage, we will be able to avoid the inspections at the gate.”

“It feels like we’re criminals.”

Even though we need to sneak out, it feels weird. Passing the city walls attracts more attention, but sneaking out has a greater risk of being caught. At that time, Cain, who was restless, approached me and bowed his head deeply.

“I’m really sorry for that time!”

Huh? That time? This foolish fellow has already apologized for the matter related to that bastard whose name I don’t even remember. It’s nothing new.

“I told you it’s okay.”

“But that’s… rather than that, please drop the honorifics.”

Drop the honorifics? I don’t think it would be proper. It’s possible to drop the honorifics within the Special Task Squad because I’m Captain’s fiancée; Tess and Vatein were also my subordinates. But since Cain is an imperial knight who isn’t related to me at all, it doesn’t feel right to speak informally to him. Moreover, actually, if we were being strict, I should only drop honorifics when speaking to employees, and for that, only Sofia would qualify. Sieg is a temporary butler, so he’s also included. As for the rest, I allow myself to speak informally to them in private, but I have to watch my mouth in front of others.

“Right now I’m just a noble lady, though.”

“This won’t do since I already know that I’m facing Sir Roel. It’s a great honour to meet you like this…..”

His, his face is turning red. What’s wrong with this guy? He was like this before, but today he seems especially odd.

“If there is anything you desire, I won’t let you down.”

“Then I’ll be in your care.”

He’s very humble. Seeing him flustered like that, I think he’s kind of cute–

Huh?

Then suddenly, a pair of strong arms wrapped around my upper body and hugged me. Naturally, they were not Ortzen’s, but Captain Jullius’s arms. As he wrapped my upper body, he pulled me into his chest. The back of my head bumped against his wide chest lightly. What happened? He’s doing something he has never done before. As he put a little bit strength into the arms that embraced me, I raised my hand and touched the Captain’s cheek lightly.

“What’s wrong?”

“…Nothing.”

His voice that could be heard coming from above my head, sounded a bit like a murmur. Something seems to be different from usual, but I don’t know why. In that moment, Ortzen intervened.

“Alright, that’s all for now. We have to get ready for tomorrow. We have to gather at the Church later tonight so as not to be seen by others. Captain and Lord Roel have decided to leave from your own home, right?”

“Yeah. Sieg told me to ride the employees’ carriage.”

I was practically leaning against Captain Jullius’s chest when I replied. This is kind of comfortable.

“I’m also going to accompany the two of you when you return to your homes. If I leave the Special Task Squad alone, it’ll attract attention.”

“What about Clauen?”

“He has gotten out of the city wall first. He prepared for the trip by himself.”

Come to think of it, he’s someone who is affliated with the merchant guild, so I think he’ll be good at preparing necessary items for the trip. Ortzen turned around and walked to his desk, then said.

“There is a few things left to finish, so please wait a moment.”

“Take your time.”

There’s still a long time until the sun sets, so there’s no rush. I was going to sit on the sofa, but I didn’t think Captain Jullius would let me go, so I just stood still. Should I have asked him to hug me from the start?

“Umm, Sir Roel.”

At that moment, Cain secretly studied my facial expression and talked to me again. He’s being very timid. He’s not this kind of guy.

“Hm?”

“So…..”

That guy hesitatingly looked at me and Captain Jullius behind me in turn and took a step backward.

“… It’s nothing.”

What the–, spill it. How can I know what you want to say if you don’t say it out loud?

“Just say it. It’s oka–“

Fwoosh. Captain Jullius suddenly lifted me in his arms in a flash.

“It’s going to take a while so we should go out and wait.”

“Then let’s go to a restaurant.”

If we leave the capital, we won’t be able to eat good snacks until we return. Sweet snacks can only be found in large cities outside the capital. Cain was a bit of a bother, but there was no sign of him trying to talk to me again, so just like that, I went outside while being held in Captain’s arms.



I said let’s go to the restaurant, but the place where Captain Jullius headed was the underground cave. While I was wondering why we came here, he put me down on top of a boulder. I sat on the boulder and looked up at Captain Jullius. He looked somewhat troubled as if he didn’t know how to broach the matter. If I just leave it alone, he’ll be hesitating all day long, so I’ll have to open my mouth first.

“What happened?”

There must be a reason for coming here. The Captain answered my question in a small voice as if he was murmuring.

“…… I hate it.”

“What do you hate?”

“… Roel, you… seem to be interested in Sir Silac.”

After he said that, he turned his head sideways slightly as if he was avoiding my gaze. Oh, what is this? Despite the difference in gender, I’ve seen this scene a lot. I have heard some ladies say ‘I hate it when you’re being friendly with Lady X’ quite a lot. I never thought Captain Jullius would say that. Somehow I burst into laughter.

“I don’t really like Sir Silac, but why did you hate it when I only chatted with him a bit?”

“…… Because it was different.”

“Different?”

“It’s just, I had that kind of feeling.”

That kind of feeling? What is it? I thought Cain was a bit cute when he was flustered, but could it be that he noticed that?

“No matter what you feel, I like you a lot more, Jullius.”

“I also know that.”

… Hello? I thought you were feeling insecure, but I see that you’re talking confidently now. I beckoned the Captain to sit next to me. Then I held his hand tightly and asked.

“You know already? No, well, I guess it goes without saying that I like you more.”

“Roel…..” He continued in a slightly dejected voice, “So now, the person you like the most isn’t me.”

“… What?”

“….. Or am I still?”

“Uh, that’s right, but wait.”

It’s not wrong. It’s true that the person I like the most right now is Captain Jullius, but why is the Captain saying something like that? No, I’m not saying he can’t say it, but I think something is strange… Is it right to think that it’s strange? Am I very obvious when when I like something? I think I’ve said I like him several times, but maybe I’m not good enough to be the person he likes the most? Rather than that, even though he is confident that the person I like the most is him, why is he often diffident?

“So, Jullius, uh… first of all, am I the person you like the most?”

Sorting through my thoughts, this seems to be the first thing that needs to be confirmed. It will be my loss if I’m the only one who likes him the most. The Captain nodded right away at my question.

“That’s right.”

Good, that’s enough.

“Why do you often hesitate and dither even though you know I like you the most? It’s okay to be more confident.”

Even if you’re not as confident as me.

“However…..”

His pale grey eyes looked down at his hand in mine.

“I don’t know how to keep being someone who Roel likes the most like this. I mean, I don’t know how to win someone’s favor.”

“What? Uhm…..”

T/N: sorry guys for uploading this late, we were quite busy these days. (Mainly it was my fault tho *hides in the corner). I’ll try to finish another chapter on weekend, but we’ll see how it will go haha

11 thoughts on “Chapter 5 part 1: Inertia’s Confession

  1. I will get diabetes if Julius keeps on being so sweet! Take care of your health and your real-life first and thank you for your hard work. But please let me implore you to release as many chapters as you can (AFTER everything else is sorted out!) I like this story so much!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I did a happy dance in my chair when I saw the email for this chapter!!!! I had been checking the site everyday! You are amazing! I LOVED THIS CHAPTER! Captain is showing jealousy and possessiveness due to insecurity. They love each other just don’t know it is love! So cute!!!!

    Make sure to take care of yourself. Selfcare is extremely important. Health and good mentality is more important than chapters. We can wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey there!! Thank you so much for translating this story. When I first heard about it, no one was translating so I couldn’t get into it. Do you have a patreon or ko-fi?

    Like

    1. Hi! Glad to hear that you like to read this novel ^^
      Sadly, I don’t accept any types of donation. Instead, why don’t you support the author by purchasing the book on google play? Even though it’s in Korean but I think the author deserve it more than I do 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment